Powershell | Using Modify AD Groups with Alternate Credentials

Quick one. Had an issue where I needed to remove a user from a AD group in another domain. To my surprise it was harder then I had thought. At first I settled on using set-QADGroupMember (the Quest Powershell CMDLET) as it takes -connectionusername and -connectionpassword. However it was dog slow. I think that was due to being over a WAN link and it was querying all members (which took about 2-3 mins).

I needed something swifter. I went directly to the .NET controls and reduced the time to about 15 second.

$GroupDN = “LDAP://CN=GroupName,OU=Distribution Lists,DC=domain,DC=local”
$Group = New-Object -TypeName System.DirectoryServices.DirectoryEntry -ArgumentList $GroupDN,”username”,”Password”
#To Add
$Group.Properties[“member”].Add(“DN of the User you wish to add”)
#To Remove
$Group.Properties[“member”].Remove(“DN of the User you wish removed”)
$Group.CommitChanges()
$Group.Close()

Enjoy!

-Eric

Tags: ,

About Eric

My name is Eric Weintraub. I am an IT Professional with over 12 years of real world experience. I currently work as a Senior IT Manager for a large software company that develops products for Information Technology workers. Professionally, I love what I do and it shows in my work. Personally, I enjoy technology as a whole. Enterprise Technology, Social Media, and Mobile technologies are all things I follow. I also love to play golf, go snowboarding, cook, love to eat, and read. Also big on photography, check out my recent photography at http://www.ericweintraubphotography.com and also Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ericweintraub/. As much as I don’t have a lot of free time, I always come across things that I believe could help others. I just wanted to be able to share what I find with others. Thanks for reading the blog, please setup a RSS feed and keep in touch! Eric Weintraub

Leave a Reply

