Fix | Windows 10, “the connection cannot proceed because authentication is not enabled”

Ah security, the balance between not allowing access at all and allowing too much access.

In Windows 10 Microsoft changed RDP’s defaults. They modified the default for “SecurityLayer” from 0 to 2. Even if you go into the user interface and disable: “Allow connections only from computers running Remote Desktop with Network Level Authentication (recommended)” Still doesn’t change that value to a 2.

Simple fix:

  1. Open RegEdit
  2. Navigate to this Key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Terminal Server\WinStations\RDP-Tcp
  3. Change “SecurityLayer” to a zero
  4. Reboot and done!
Tags: , , , ,

About Eric

My name is Eric Weintraub. I am an IT Professional with over 12 years of real world experience. I currently work as a Senior IT Manager for a large software company that develops products for Information Technology workers. Professionally, I love what I do and it shows in my work. Personally, I enjoy technology as a whole. Enterprise Technology, Social Media, and Mobile technologies are all things I follow. I also love to play golf, go snowboarding, cook, love to eat, and read. Also big on photography, check out my recent photography at http://www.ericweintraubphotography.com and also Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ericweintraub/. As much as I don’t have a lot of free time, I always come across things that I believe could help others. I just wanted to be able to share what I find with others. Thanks for reading the blog, please setup a RSS feed and keep in touch! Eric Weintraub

12 responses to “Fix | Windows 10, “the connection cannot proceed because authentication is not enabled””

  1. bkz81 says :

    Has there been a Microsoft kb update for this yet for windows 10?

  2. sitary says :

    Well, that’s obscure. Thanks for sharing!

  3. jche says :

    worked like a charm! thanks!

  4. Rauno Mägi says :

    No reboot was necessary (at least in my case)

  5. cblair426 says :

    Works great! Hope they fix this in the next Windows 10 role-out.

  6. sarabjeet Singh says :

    awesome!that worked ..Is there any way to follow or Do you have a blog?

  7. Mang Nano says :

    Thanks for this fix! Now able to login to a windows 10 desktop!

  8. Ben says :

    No reboot neccesary, and at least in my case I only had to change it to 1. Not sure what the different levels mean but 1 sounds better than 0.

    • Justin says :

      I believe:
      0 sets it to RDP Security Layer
      1 sets it to Negotiate
      2 sets it to SSL (TLS 1.0)

      I believe (but haven’t tried) that it can also be set using group policy at Computer Configuration -> Policies -> Administrative templates -> Windows Components -> Terminal Services -> Terminal Server -> Security

      Probably can be set is Remote Desktop Services Configuration on a server.

  9. Brenton Crosby says :

    This fix also works with Windows Server 2016, thanks for sharing.

  10. Laurie Yorke says :

    Amateur here….I got all the way to the security, but don’t see what I’m suppose to change to 2?

Leave a Reply

